h1

It Feels Good to Feel Good

June 3, 2008

It’s been a good three years since I have played soccer. I grew up playing the game in club league and in high school. My friends in Humble called me the Mexican because I mowed peoples yard in the neighborhood and I played on the soccer team. That was kind of funny I guess. But I played tonight for the first time in as I said earlier, three years. I was a little rusty but I did pretty well by the end of the night with three assists and one goal. I always love seeing peoples faces/reactions to my speed. I think everyone thinks that since I am shorter than most of them that i can’t run as fast because of my wee little legs. But then they see me surpass them on a break away and I just laugh at their reaction because they never would have expected it. Then I kick the ball the other way down the field hahahaha. It’s really funny actually. I made up for my lack of ball control tonight with my speed.

There was this girl out there playing tonight. She was better than about three/fourths of the guys out there. But since she was a girl no one was covering her because they thought that she wouldn’t be able to do anything valuable. She proved everyones assumptions wrong.

I think we do this to people in life a whole lot. We all assume way to much about others before even seeing their potential. I do it a whole lot and I have been on the receiving end a whole lot as well. Assumptions are just not good in general I would say. We should make more of an effort to get to know everyone and develop relationships with them and then we can tell whether or not they are a hoe bag or a really nice person.

Running around and kicking a ball is good for the soul I say. I feel really great after tonight. It’s been awhile for that as well.

3 comments

  1. its cool that you’re posting more.


  2. Okay so the whole soccer thing is indeed pretty funny…from the “mexican” part to the “shorter but faster” part I def. had a smile.

    i agree….we all do it, and it’s one of those things we have to watch. but it needs to change.


  3. Glad you came you did really well for not having played in 3 years, great picture by the way. And your application of prejudging people is very true. And im not so sure the people playing underestimated her, they’re just not very good at defense lol.



Leave a comment