Archive for June 3rd, 2008

h1

It Feels Good to Feel Good

June 3, 2008

It’s been a good three years since I have played soccer. I grew up playing the game in club league and in high school. My friends in Humble called me the Mexican because I mowed peoples yard in the neighborhood and I played on the soccer team. That was kind of funny I guess. But I played tonight for the first time in as I said earlier, three years. I was a little rusty but I did pretty well by the end of the night with three assists and one goal. I always love seeing peoples faces/reactions to my speed. I think everyone thinks that since I am shorter than most of them that i can’t run as fast because of my wee little legs. But then they see me surpass them on a break away and I just laugh at their reaction because they never would have expected it. Then I kick the ball the other way down the field hahahaha. It’s really funny actually. I made up for my lack of ball control tonight with my speed.

There was this girl out there playing tonight. She was better than about three/fourths of the guys out there. But since she was a girl no one was covering her because they thought that she wouldn’t be able to do anything valuable. She proved everyones assumptions wrong.

I think we do this to people in life a whole lot. We all assume way to much about others before even seeing their potential. I do it a whole lot and I have been on the receiving end a whole lot as well. Assumptions are just not good in general I would say. We should make more of an effort to get to know everyone and develop relationships with them and then we can tell whether or not they are a hoe bag or a really nice person.

Running around and kicking a ball is good for the soul I say. I feel really great after tonight. It’s been awhile for that as well.