Archive for June 11th, 2008

h1

Thank God for Public Showering

June 11, 2008

I went to the Chiropractor today to receive my deep tissue massage for my back. I don’t know if this is going to become a habit of having awkward moments there, but I definitely almost had one again today. If it wasn’t for my 4 straight years of running cross country in high school and taking a shower with 20 other guys around me each morning for those four years then, today would have been awkward.

There I lay with my back towards the ceiling and a man with hands as big as baseball gloves groping my back. When he gets to the lower region of my back he realizes that I am in pain, because of my whimpering. He asks me where it hurts and I point it out to him. He then follows this muscle until it reaches my bottom. Here is where it begins to get kinda awkward. He tells me that I need to undo my belt so he can reach the problem area of the muscle. Undoing my belt was not enough to get to this area so then asks me to undo my pants all together. I was like alright whatever, he’s a guy, I’m a guy, I don’t mind if he sees my super white butt. He then begins to deep tissue massage the muscle surrounding my sciatic nerve. He tells me that these muscles were super tight and that they were squeezing my sciatic nerve which is what was causing some of the pain. The pain is so excruciating that I am having to laugh my head off to keep from crying. I don’t even wont to know what the people in the waiting room were thinking due to the noises that I was making in my moment of sheer pain.

Then it happens! KNOCK, KNOCK KNOCK, The doctor tells this person to come in. Here I am with half my super white butt exposed and in comes, guess who? the little Taiwanese girl. Luckily I am facing away from the door, so I didn’t see her face.

As soon as she enters the room she explains to the doctor that she needs the laser for a patient. Then I hear it, a giggle, a he he from this girl. She’s laughing at my butt. At least that is what it sounds like she is doing. This made me laugh even more in my pain, thus causing her to laugh her way out of the door.

If it wasn’t for my previous years of exposure I think I would have been rather embarrassed. But it didn’t really bother me at all really. I just found it all to be funny.

Thank God for Public Showering.